Let us not Forget Our Humble Horses

So, I have this entirely fabricated life in my head, where I own an enormous amount of land that’s topped with a big old farmhouse, an organic garden, fresh eggs every morning, and a bunch of animals – rescued animals.  Not just dogs, or cats, or birds, but horses.  (I also routinely remind my husband of this life that I’ve created in my head and for the most part, he goes along with it.)

When I was little, my best friend and I rode horses together.  We went to a camp where we woke up at the crack of dawn, were dropped off at 7am, ate breakfast with a shriveled old lady in her historic farmhouse and then got to work…with horses.  We mucked stalls, groomed, loved, laughed, and played.  We rode all day, trails, fields, jumps, you name it.  I even fractured my tailbone, but still got back on (that’s a whole other post).

I still remember these summers as some of the best of my life.  And when I’m out in the country, driving down rolling hills and soaking up the scenery, if I get a whiff of a horse (if you’re a horse lover, you know this smell) I become completely nostalgic, and slightly crazy, and immediately want to find where the scent came from.  There is nothing like that smell; it’s literally like heaven to me.  And if any of you out there have ridden horses, you know that’s just the beginning of the joy.

Horses are truly remarkable animals, smart, sarcastic sometimes (perhaps they’re pissed at you, and perhaps they bite your hand when you’re putting on their tack), but above all they are gentle, loving, loyal and sweet.  They have hearts of gold and are one of my favorite animals.  And there are many, many horses that need to be rescued.

So, today’s blog is dedicated to saving these beautiful creatures, so they can live a life a horse should live…with lots of carrots, hay, green pastures, running, roaming, jumping, playing and loving.  So they can live a life they deserve.

Here are some fantastic photos of two of my favorite horses, rescued by Malia and her family (look for her interview tomorrow on the blog!).

Sweet Juliet is delicate, gentle, and such a lady.  She was rescued from Middleburg Humane Society.  When Juliet first arrived in her new home, she was intended to be a foster, but was very sick, and after nursing her back to health, Malia and her family couldn’t let her go!  Look at this beautiful girl now!

Juliet Tail Swoosh

Juliet

Juliet’s boyfriend, Eddie (at least I like to think they’re dating, they make such a beautiful couple) was also rescued by Malia.  He arrived emaciated and in need of lots of TLC.  I had the pleasure of meeting Eddie and Juliet.  Eddie is a cuddle bug and stole my heart.

Eddie

Mike and Eddie

And of course, I have to include some photos of the lovebugs together.  They have lots of dinner dates, in the grass.

Eddie and Juliet grazing

Eddie and Juliet

Check out the links below for some horse rescue sites!  And don’t be afraid to take a look, or even go visit.  If you’ve never met a horse, I promise the minute you do, this entire blog post will make sense.

Day’s End Farm Horse Rescue

Eagle Hill Equine Rescue

Saffyre Sanctuary, Inc.

Mid-Atlantic Horse Rescue

Central Virginia Horse Rescue

Middleburg Humane Foundation

There are so many rescues out there, this is just a start.  If you’re interested in rescuing, fostering, or adopting a horse, reach out to the organizations in this post, or just search “horse rescue” in your favored search engine!  I guarantee you’ll find a match!

Pittie Kisses,

Grace

5 thoughts on “Let us not Forget Our Humble Horses”

    1. Thank you for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I just read your recent post and love it. Thank you for caring for all of those sweet, spunky animals!

Leave a comment